The Documented Life Project

Last year I discovered an awesome group of artists who got together to inspire us to get out there and document our life, and in doing so expand our artistic ways and learn new techniques. I fell in love with the concept immediately and was so excited to get my diary to play along. Yes well, there was a hiccup with the order I put in (nothing to do with DLP or the girls involved, this was an independent book store I was ordering from) and my diary didn’t come for several weeks. By that time I was so far behind that it all became too much and was too overwhelming and I think I did two weeks and absolutely hated what I created and pretty much threw in the towel. Yes I am a sooky lala. Well this year they’ve created a new program and for some reason it fits better with me. Maybe it’s because it’s in an art journal instead of a diary and I don’t have to worry about documenting my life as such, but rather just have fun with art that I’m loving it. I’m also giving myself time to do each challenge and not worrying about falling behind and I’m catching up at my own pace. I’m also using a Dylusions Journal I already owned and the fact that I had already created some pages in the book, isn’t bugging me. Now if you knew me you would know that normally this would drive me nuts and I would need a brand new book. But I’m all about letting go and going with the flow this year lol.

So here are the first 4 weeks I’ve done.

WEEK 1:  Book paper – be your own goal keeper

WEEK 1: Book paper – be your own goal keeper

WEEK 2: Gesso – The beginning is always today

WEEK 2: Gesso – The beginning is always today

WEEK3: The colour wheel – I found I could say things with colour or shapes that I couldn’t say any other way – Georgia O’Keeffe

WEEK3: The colour wheel – I found I could say things with colour or shapes that I couldn’t say any other way – Georgia O’Keeffe

WEEK 4: Writing- Words with friends

WEEK 4: Writing- Words with friends

The next ones I’ll post with more detail and pics, but for now I hope you enjoy. I’m not loving all of them, but I am loving the fact that I don’t care that I don’t love them and that I’ve learnt new techniques and gotten so much inspiration from the DLP girls and all the other people taking part. Wow there are some amazing talented people out there. If you love creating art and having fun I suggest you check it out. You can find everything you need to know here.

Come along and have some fun!

Leave a Reply

