DLP Week 5

Here is my week 5 take on the Documented Life Project. The prompt for week 5 is: Under paper (paper on your work table) – What lies beneath? 

I got the inspiration for this page from scrolling through my instagram feed. I can’t remember the artist’s name though (sorry), but when I went to create this page I had this image in my head and I used that as my starting point. This page was actually created after Week 6 as I was trying to get as much onto my under paper as I could.

The background was created using paint and brayer. Ok let me just say, I think I’ve found my new favourite way to make a background. I’ve had a brayer in my stash for a long time and have never used it with paint! Crazy I know. But I just love the effect!

The first few colors consisted of a teal, green, gold and yellow.

 

 

IMG_4676

 

I thought it needed a little pop so added some magenta using my finger.

IMG_4677

I then added some stenciling with gesso. A little tip – those new mini blending tools by Tim Holtz are fantastic for using with a stencil and gesso/paint. It prevents any bleeding you would normally get under your stencils and you can have a little sponge for each color.

The flower and butterflies were cut out of my under paper. I’ve never used under paper before but will be from now on. It looks pretty cool. I also used my typo letter stamps to spell out the quote.

 

IMG_4678

 

And here’s the finished page. I doodled around the page, flower and butterflies with a black watercolor pencil to help them pop a bit. Then used a water brush to blend the pencil. I also used a grey pan pastel to add more shading and around the border of the page.

 

IMG_4682

I’m quite happy with the final product. Here are some close ups

IMG_4680 IMG_4681 IMG_4682 IMG_4684

 

 

IMG_4685

IMG_4686 IMG_4687

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_4688

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also took Roben’s idea of making the left side a sort of menu of what I used on the page. It’s a great way to keep a record of what you did and used so that when you look back you have some idea of how you created the page.

You can find everything you need to know about The Documented Life Project here.

IMG_4683

 

Leave a Reply

