Books, Books, Books

I absolutely love making books, journals and albums. I’m not quite sure why I don’t make more to be honest. So as we are in the middle of Winter here in Australia, and Saturday was an especially wet and windy day, the kids and I sat down for a craft afternoon and I taught them how to make their own “proper” books.

We used the Zutter Bind-it-all machine to make ours. I couldn’t live without this little gem, such a small but efficient little machine. Here is Master Z with his finished book, he looks so proud. He wanted it to be full of colored pages so it was a good way to use my offcuts of paper.

IMG_7765

Sunday I had the house to myself so I thought I’d try to make my own Smashbook. The initial thought was to use the rest of my cutoffs and mismatched papers/scraps, but ended up also cutting up some paper from the Immortal Love stack by DCWV. Absolutely love this paper stack, I’ve had it for a while and it was the first time using it.

I took a couple of photos of the process.

IMG_7819I started with some thick chipboard which I cut down to size. The covers are 6 x 8 in and the spine is 1 1/4 x 6 in.

IMG_7820I used some book binding tape to join the three pieces.

IMG_7821IMG_7822I then covered it all in paper. As my paper wasn’t wide enough I used two different sheets and lined them up accordingly.

IMG_7823Here’s the finished cover, I used a piece of lace to cover the seam where the paper overlaps.

IMG_7824 IMG_7825I made a pocket for one of the pages, and collated some scraps, cut some new paper and used some envelopes, tags and textured paper for the inside pages.

IMG_78261Now the hardest part. I had to work out a way to bind it with the cover liners and allow the book to close but also open flat. It took me a couple of attempts but I finally got there. You can see what I mean by the second photo. By scoring it in half and not gluing it down, it’s giving it flexibility to open and close.

IMG_7827This is all the pages and the liner before I glued it onto the covers.

IMG_7831 IMG_7832IMG_7834

Here is the finished project, I added a pocket on the inside front cover.

I hope this has inspired you to give book making a go. There are lots of ways to make books, this is just one. It’s fun, not too hard and fairly quick! Great for a winter’s afternoon at home.

Leave a Reply

