You are my happy place – Journal Page

My kids have been on school holiday for the last two weeks so haven’t been getting much craft time in. Yesterday I was feeling the urge after getting some inspiration from you-tube.

I have a lot of acrylic paint but don’t generally use them – why?? I have no idea, maybe because I can’t paint lol. This time I was determined to use mainly paints on my page. I also had a very messy desk as I hadn’t packed up from my last session and I had some paper scraps lying around so I wanted to incorporate them (less tidying up that way).

I had no idea where I was heading with this page and I’m sure my direction changed about 100 times during the process. I literally just picked up my brush and started painting and hoped for the best. (Please forgive the photo quality, they were taken with my phone and not in the best lighting.)

IMG_6835

I didn’t want a smooth background so I left some brush strokes to add texture.

IMG_6837

I then painted some circles (using my fingers) with green paint and outlined them with a black marker. The whole point was to make it look messy – I don’t do neat well, and I think this is why I love mixed media and art journaling so much. There is no rhyme or reason to it, just fun and freedom to do whatever you like.

IMG_6838

I glued down my scraps of paper using gel medium – love that stuff!

IMG_6840

I used Gesso with a circle stencil to add some more texture to the page. And used a leaf stencil to draw and paint the leaves on the sides.

IMG_6841

The scraps of paper where looking a little too white so I put a wash of the three colors over the top to blend them in a bit. At this point I had no idea where to go next and what message to put on there. I walked away for a bit and then came back to it. I had some photos on my desk which worked well with the color palate so I started cutting. Is it just me or does cutting up photos just feel wrong?

IMG_6842

And this is how it ended up. I actually love the cut up photo and I think it works well with the page. I think I’ll be doing a lot more pages like this with photos in it. It’s so much more liberating than actual scrapbook pages and I didn’t feel like it had to look perfect. Now to get some more photos printed!

I will put a list of products used below. Hope you have a great day!

 

Products

Jo Sonja’s Brown Earth acrylic paint

Jo Sonja’s Olive Green acrylic paint

Kaisercraft Turquoise acrylic paint

Gesso, gel medium

Engraver paper scraps

Prima alphabet Washi Tape

Dylusions Luscious leaves stencil

Donna Downey Studios/Prima circle stencil

White and black markers

Kaisercraft Picked Pear Word Stickers.

Leave a Reply

