Catch up

It’s been well over a year since I’ve posted anything on this blog. It’s been a year of many ups and downs. A lot has happened and I’m only now just getting my mojo back. So I’ve decided to give this blogging thing another go. So if you’d like to know a little about what’s been happening since last year keep reading.

Last year I had to give up being a Stampin’ Up! Demonstrator which was gut wrenching. Due to finance and health issues I just couldn’t keep going. It had been such a great outlet for me and had given me some purpose for the last couple of years. I knew I’d miss it a lot. I’d met so many great people and had so much fun with it. So yes giving it up sucked big time.

As you may or may not know I suffer from an Autoimmune disease called Psoriatic Arthritis (PSA). Along with the obvious chronic pain, there is chronic fatigue, brain fog, memory loss, confusion, depression and a host of other things that come along with the medication I have to take. Winter for me is the worst. The last few years the winters in South Australia seem to get colder and colder. Living in a house that is fully tiled with no insulation and little heating doesn’t help.

For the last 6 years I have been in a wheelchair 99% of the time. As my feet are mainly affected I can’t weight bare and the more I do the worse it gets. Last year was probably the worst one for me yet as most of my medication only keeps my flairs to a minimum but during winter all bets are off and I spent most of it in bed in indescribable excruciating pain, dazed in a pain medicated state. So as you can imagine I didn’t get much crafting done and a lot of my personal life suffered.

I always look forward to the warmer weather, while most people are complaining about 38 degree days I’m just thankful it’s not cold and raining. This year however I’ve had a host of other health issues to contend with. I seem to have been living at the hospital or doctors and have had well over 30 appointments already (and it’s only April), three medical procedures, and two more diseases added to my ever-growing list of “what’s wrong with me”. So now I have Gout and Type two Diabetes. I know what you’re thinking, Gout is an old man’s disease. I can tell you I have baffled even my Rheumatologist and I’ve also given him a few major scares when he thought my knee had gone septic and had organized an urgent knee replacement operation, only to have it confirmed as gout. I can tell you I was majorly relieved at knowing I didn’t have to have a knee replacement but the thought of another disease and more medication added to my list wasn’t what I wanted to hear either. Just before this happened I also found out I had type 2 Diabetes. There is a lot of negative connotation associated with people who have this disease and a lot of naive people who don’t know all the facts (including me pre diagnosis). After meeting with a Diabetes Nurse I’ve been well-informed and I know it’s not anything I should be embarrassed about and that there are many factors (some out of my control) that have contributed to me having it. It’s now well controlled with diet and medication and I’ve also lost well over 20kg which I’m super proud of. It’s only since I stopped taking one of my medications that my body has finally let go of some of my fat. I gained about 25kg over a few years due to , medication, stress, depression and going through a separation/divorce. Not being able to exercise makes losing weight a lot harder. I miss being able to go for walks. It used to be one of my stress reliefs. As my PSA has now spread to my hands, and having gout in my knee, just wheeling myself around is becoming increasingly difficult. And I know there will be many obstacles ahead.

I’m so fortunate to have such a supportive family. Without my two kids I would find it difficult to get out of bed each day, they are my life, my love and I couldn’t live without them. The days they are with their dad are always hard and I miss them like crazy, but I use this time to recoup and rest because when they come home it’s always full on. I wish I could do more for and with them. I’m always feeling guilty about missing out on so much of their life because I can’t physically do more than I do. My mum is a true godsend and I would never have survived without her constant help, even though she is unwell herself. My mum is one of those truly unselfish people who always puts other people first and will do anything for someone. She is one of the few special souls on this earth and everyone who knows her loves her and wants her to be their mum.

So this is where I’m at. Sorry for such a long-winded post and I hope you’re still here. I promise the next post will be about something crafty!

2 thoughts on “Catch up

  1. Hi Terri ….It is over 12months since I read your blog & am wondering how you are after all that time ? My sisiter found you when she was searching for craft sites ( mainly for card making ) It was ironical really as she had just been diagnosed with psoriatic athritis to add to her growing list of health problems ..Just one more thing she had/has to learn to live with …I know she woukd be glad of an update re your health as she can well sympathise with you ! Regards , Betty Arnold , Pt Pirie SA

    Like

    • Hello Betty, yes I’ve been very slack with my blog of late, but I’m getting back into the swing of things finally :D. Health wise, my PSA hasn’t improved despite the growing number of medication I’ve been put on, in fact it has worsened over the last year. But alas it is a part of my life and I try and deal with it the best I can. The hardest part is not overdoing it and learning to listen to your body and stopping before you cause more harm. How is your sister doing? I hope she is getting some relief from her symptoms. It really is a cruel disease and I hope that she has found something that works for her. ❤ Terri

      Like

Leave a Reply

